News Features Cruising Photos Videos Events Newsletters Submit


Sail-World.com : International Superyacht Society announces 2011 design award finalists

International Superyacht Society announces 2011 design award finalists

. ©
ISS (International Superyacht Society) has released its lists of finalists for the 2011 International Design Awards.

For more than 20 years, ISS’s Design Awards, based entirely on peer review, has celebrated the very finest naval architecture, design, interiors, engineering and builds the large yacht industry presents annually.

Each year, nominees are submitted to ISS by the large yacht industry’s leading builders, designers and stewards. The categories are as follows:

Power: (3) awards for size categories 24m-40m, 40m-65m, 65m+
Sail: (2) awards for size categories 24m-40m, 40m+
Interior Design: (1) award for power or sail
Best Refit: (1) award for power or sail

The individual selection of five finalists in each award grouping results from the privilege to vote that ISS membership affords. A distinguished and impartial group of judges then weighs the qualifications of each yacht with the winning yachts announced at ISS’s annual International Design Awards Gala, this year on Thursday, 27 October from 7:00 P.M. at the Marriott Harbor Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale. The theme celebrates Launchings!

ISS also recognizes achievement in the business and service of superyachts. During the Gala, ISS Awards of Distinction—Business or Business Person of the Year, Innovation, the ISS Fabien Cousteau Blue Award as well as the Leadership Award and Distinguished Crew Award—are presented.

The ISS Business (Person) of the Year is awarded to those demonstrating excellence in their area of superyacht expertise within the previous year; nominations come from both the industry and the ISS board with the board making the finalist selections. Previous honourees have included Frans Heesen, Heesen Yachts, John Dane, Trinity Yachts and Corporation of Trinity House.

Open to every aspect of the industry—from crew training to technological advances—the Excellence in Innovation award is given to an individual or business that has demonstrated innovation in their endeavours. Nominations come from the industry and ISS board members vote to determine finalists. In 2008, 2009 and 2010 respectively, Agrimond, Carlisle and Finch and Sailing Yacht Soliloquy, Callender Designs were awarded the Excellence in Innovation honour.

The new ISS Fabien Cousteau Blue Award, introduced at the 2010 Awards Gala, celebrates stewardship of marine ecosystems. Environmental leadership, global oceanic conservation and resource preservation are prerequisites for nomination. The integration of environmental technologies and resource management with the goal of setting achievable standards and models for wide adaptation in the design, engineering and building of large yachts—and the use of the Earth’s waterways—are essential criteria. Nominations are made by owners and the yachting industry; selection is by panel of judges, including Mr. Cousteau.

ISS’s Leadership Award recognizes an individual or business whose distinctive work and commitment to the industry has contributed—over a substantial period of time—to the sustainable growth of the superyacht community worldwide. Nominations and selection for The Leadership Award are made by those who have received the award in previous years with the previous year’s winner presiding.

The Distinguished Crew Award is presented in years when the DCA award judges are presented with a nomination that represents the essence of the award (nominations are sought industry-wide). Specifically, these honours are designed to recognize yacht crew whose distinguished acts of service best exemplify the standards to which professional yacht crew aspire.

ISS would like to acknowledge the invaluable, and continuing, support of its Annual Gala event sponsors—Robb Report, Show Management, The Yacht Report Group, Yachts International, Burger Boat Company, Westrec Marinas and Wright Maritime Group.

The full list of finalists is available under 'Awards' at www.superyachtsociety.org

by Amy Halsted, ISS Executive Director


Click on the FB Like link to post this story to your FB wall


6:36 PM Sat 17 Sep 2011 GMT

Click here for printer friendly version
Click here to send us feedback or comments about this story.