News Features Cruising Photos Videos Events Newsletters Submit


Sail-World.com : RYA Powerboat racing champions honored

RYA Powerboat racing champions honored

'Tony Needell Award winner Rob Beakhust - RYA National Powerboat Racing Awards Ceremony'    RYA    Click Here to view large photo

RYA National Powerboat Racing Awards - The powerboat racing champions of 2010 came together this weekend (Saturday 19 February) to celebrate their achievements, at the annual RYA National Powerboat Racing Awards Ceremony.

Held at the prestigious De Vere Royal Bath hotel in Bournemouth, 50 of the UK’s best racers, the youngest being just ten years old, from the disciplines of Jet Sport, Offshore, and Circuit racing claimed their awards, honoring their achievements throughout the 2010 season in front of friends, family and supporters.

The evening was hosted by British Powerboat Champion and BBC Radio Presenter Shelley Jory-Leigh, who came to light as the first women to compete in the Powerboat P1 Evolution Class, and RYA’s Powerboat Racing Manager John Puddifoot. John and Shelley were joined on stage by the RYA Chief Executive Sarah Treseder who presented the awards.

'I am delighted to be here this evening celebrating the achievements of our powerboat racing champions. I am overwhelmed to see the sheer diversity of the awards and I offer my utmost respect to the racers and everything they do' commented Sarah who was enjoying her first RYA Powerboat Racing Awards event.

'I would like to thank all the volunteers, race officers and everybody who is involved in making the sport possible. Tonight has been a genuine pleasure and privilege,' she concluded.

Alongside the annual awards which included eleven new record holders, a number of special awards were presented including the Offshore Sponsors Trophy which was awarded to Round Britain 2012, and the BJ Noone award which is awarded for an outstanding performance, and was presented to National Circuit Outboard Champion,

Outboard Sprint O:250 Champion and World & National O250 Record Holder at 112.27mph, Julian Codling (46).

Rob Beakhust (70) received a standing ovation when he was announced as the winner of the Tony Needell Award, which recognized services to the sport in the Offshore discipline.

Rob said of his award; 'I feel very privileged to have had the opportunity to take part in the work I have done and it is a huge honor to have been acknowledged.'

Also amongst the winners was 14 year old Jordan Muckles, World Formula Future Class 4 Parallel Slalom, World Formula Future Class 4 Maneuvering and World Formula Future Class 4 Champion. 'It’s really great to be here tonight and to be receiving an award. It’s been an amazing year and my family and I have been so busy going to different events and things but it has been quality' he told us.

Shelley Jory-Leigh said: 'I absolutely love presenting these awards. Each year I learn something different about the sport and I have the privilege of meeting racers from across all disciplines.

'I love achieving my goals and winning and I think that it is important that these things are recognized, so it is fantastic that this award ceremony acknowledges all the amazing things that are being achieved right throughout the sport.'

The awards are hosted each year by the RYA in recognition of the UK Powerboat Racers achievements and once again it has been a phenomenal year for Powerboat Racing in the UK with over 800 people racing powerboats and several representing the UK in International Competition. There has been no less than seven World Champion titles claimed and several other World and European Medals secured throughout the year.


by Susie Nation-Grainger


Click on the FB Like link to post this story to your FB wall


1:03 AM Tue 22 Feb 2011 GMT

Click here for printer friendly version
Click here to send us feedback or comments about this story.